Corporal Kleg

As part of my A level Art course, I also had to study the history of art. Thanks for your book Mr Gombrich by the way; I still have it and still refer to it now and then. I really liked painting (and might do it now if I could be arsed) and possibly wasn’t too bad at it. I didn’t like drawing or charcoal much as I was always heavy handed and, frankly, just not good enough at it to satisfy myself. History of art, I’m afraid, was really turgid stuff to my 16-18 year old self, who much preferred sloping off to the Butts Tavern of a lunchtime and playing pool with the factory lads.

Our wonderful and much loved art teacher, “Nev”, used to try so hard to get us enthused about Giotto, Fra Angelico, Van Eyck (the Marriage of the Arnolfini has NEVER come up in a bloody…

View original post 1,076 more words

Leave a Reply

