335/365

I have only had two early starts this week and yet I am feeling particularly tired. Tomorrow I have a 12 hour shift to do so I feel a little concerned about how well I will stand up to the task. The worst thing about the 12 hour shift is that it is on the busiest desk and it is pretty easy to frazzle your mind. I expect I will forego my healthy breakfast for a load up of comfort food to see me through. But enough worrying about what is to come as by Friday it will all be gone, if the Mayans have their way. One wag at work has physically removed the 22/12 to 31/12 inclusive from the desk calendar with the remainder of the year sealed as a contingency just in case things don’t go to plan.

After finishing my shift today I popped over to a midland’s based archery shop to use the indoor range for an hour. After making the modifications to my bow grip and finger tab I wanted to check what was needed to finish them off properly. I also felt that I was ready to add a clicker and a kisser. These strange but obviously named items are merely reference checks. The kisser, is fitted to the string and as you draw back it is set to come into line with your lips and in particular a tooth in your top jaw. When combined with references with your draw hand under your bottom jaw and the string touching your nose, you can consistently achieve the same aiming point. The clicker is a piece of sprung metal (as a rule) and is attached to the bow in front of the arrow rest. It is flipped over the arrow so that it is holding in tension and as the arrow point slides under the clicker it springs into the bow making a clicking noise. This informs you that you have achieved the extent of your draw and to let go of the arrow. This allows you to consistently draw to the same length again aiding accuracy as under or over drawn produces a different amount of power into the shot. As I have achieved some consistency with my technique. the next step is to improve consistency in aim and draw. The results were immediately apparent. Whilst I am not shattering arrows in Olympic manner at 18 metres the shots were mostly grouped within the diameter of a tennis ball. However it was apparent that I needed to make further alterations to the arrow length and to the modified grip. It is very easy to get my hand in exactly the right place on the grip and the ridges I have introduced make it apparent when it isn’t being held correctly but the gap for my thumb is to small causing pinching and possibly a bit of torque in the grip which isn’t a desired effect. Both are easily sorted one with a dremel and the other with an arrow cutter. The arrows won’t work as well as they are matched to their current length but they were always a temporary solution anyway. When I cough up for my proper arrows it is important to know exactly what I need from them as I won’t be meddling too much with expensive ones.

Everything seems so much closer to realisation. At one point competing again was not much more than a hope and now I am just a few weeks from getting back out there again. Competing is a long way from being competitive and previous to the accident I was very competitive. This time around the hardest battle has been just getting there, I have no idea how my performance will compare but that isn’t a concern any more, well not at this moment anyway. I may feel more goal based in the summer of 2014 for the European championships but I hadn’t ever hoped of shooting internationally again and that really made me sad. I will have beaten my accident when I stand on the first target in Charante.

 

 

One thought on “335/365

  1. kate Goodall says:

    Mate, look back over a long year. Could you have even drawn the curtains, much less a bow six months or longer ago? Or scratched your back? Your goals may be different now, but you’re interested, trying out what works for you and itching to get competitive again. Your renewed enthusiasm and zest for life is really pleasing to read about.

Leave a Reply

