340/365

I was just settling down to watch an 8 goal thriller on MOTD2 when I realised I hadn’t done my blog, so here it is.

We had a busy old day, driving up north to take the presents round my family. Going back “home” has become a strange experience as it no longer feels like home, there are many memories and pretty much mostly good ones but they feel from a different lifetime. The places are familiar but strangely remote. I do feel I have made Walsall my home and this is reinforced on these visits. As we drove through the wastelands that were once thriving mining communities, I couldn’t help spare a thought for the currently unwell former Prime Minister Margaret Thatcher. Seeing the decay and the communal destruction caused by the dissolution of the mining industry at the hands of the Iron Maiden I couldn’t help wishing she had attended the Manor Hospital for treatment. Unfortunately she now appears to be on the mend and there will be no early Christmas present this year.

It was good to see my Mum and see her in good spirits and then to see my Dad and Sister being run ragged by my 3 1/2 year old nephew. I don’t know where he gets the energy from but he is a real ball of fun. I don’t know where they get the energy from to look after him, I am not looking forward to having to find it for any future grand offspring. We then went over to see Kayleigh and Tracy and collect the very delicious looking Christmas cake Kayleigh had made for us. I am looking forward to tucking into it at some point quite soon.  As Christmas Eve Eve draws to a close, we are a day nearer to being allowed to open the Quality Street, I can hardly wait, in fact if I hadn’t been caught in the act I wouldn’t have.

 

 

Leave a Reply

