353/365

As I am feeling a little bit blah about sitting with my laptop on my knee and don’t feel all that inspired to continue in this manner, so I will get the blog out the way and turn it off, thereby doing a little bit for the environment and reducing the energy bill in the process. I started off with a couple of hours at the archery club which turned out to be more than a little frustrating as first my finger tab broke and after two tiewraps sorted it temporarily it rapidly became obvious that I had quite a lot of work to do on the bow set up to cope with the new arrows. However, with the club basking in temperate weather and popularity there wasn’t going to be an opportunity  to do anything about it. With little reason for carrying on I shot a couple of dozen arrows and packed in for the day. This means I will have to find some time to get this done over the next week or so as the season approaches and I am nowhere near where I need to be.

The highlight of the day was a trip to Middleton Lakes RSPB. We had a charity function for St Giles Hospice to attend in Tamworth later in the day, so popped in for a couple of hours on the way. It was a very productive session and I got my year count off to a great start with 25 species on show. Whilst most were fairly obvious ones, a Reed Bunting was a good spot. The bird feeders were alive with frenetic activity that happened almost too quick to take in. Now in a way taking a walk to ex gravel pits after the amount of rain we have had was either naive or totally hardcore and the pleasant walk soon descended into a quagmire that had to be endured to get a glimpse of the lakes. Once through the mudpits the lakes were calm and we were rewarded with sightings of Pochard, Gadwall and Shoveler as well as Tufted Duck, Coot and Mallard.

Well  without cutting the blog short, the Dakar Rally started today and you will get even less sense out of me while it is on, so I will sign off for the night.

 

Leave a Reply

